Today was surgery day. I arrived at the hospital before 6AM and got gowned up and checked in. I saw Christine and her family in the waiting room. I spent around 2 hours with my mother and Eric in a little room in my hospital bed where they put in my IV before they gave me a “cocktail” to calm my nerves and wheeled me off to the OR. The nurses that wheeled me were very nice and chatted with me. Asked me where I was from and told them San Diego. They giggled and said they have always wanted to move there. A mutual friend of theirs does and she calls it “Man-Diego”. I remember feeling calm but not loopy as they carted me in. The OR was full of people and lights! So many lights! I was told to count back from 10. (I have been told from others that they would start counting 10, 9, 8…and then be out…) I counted 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1….1, 2, 3, 4… before I was out cold.

               I woke with no memories of the surgery or time lapsed. First thing I asked was how Christine was. Then I fell back asleep. I woke up again in a new hospital room with Eric and my mother this time. Please see the videos because I don’t have the best recollection on details for today. I got lots of sleep. I was not in a huge deal of pain. I was on a morphine pump though and could push that button every 6 minutes if my heart desired. Severe cotton mouth and really stinky breath. The nurse did give me a special piece of gum though and that really helped.  No food, no liquids. Strictly and IV fluid diet.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Valerie. I am a heavily tattooed, agnostic, motorcycle rider. I am also a Living Kidney Donor.

    Categories

    All